Backend user group management can get really confusing
You might know the situation: your client asks you to quickly create a new backend user for them since there is a new editor in their company. Your first thought will probably be “Sure, no problem.”
You enter the backend user module in TYPO3 thinking you’ll do that really quickly, only to get overwhelmed by 31423976 different backend user groups that seem to be the same but slightly different. (Alright, alright, that might be a LITTLE overexaggerated—but you get where I’m coming from ;-).)
You probably can’t find anyone who knows why there are so many, why they are almost the same, and what they’re all meant for.
If you don’t know the problem—you’re lucky and you can stop reading right now. ;-)
For those of you who do know the problem and are facing messed-up backend user group configurations: You will love this new feature TYPO3 v10 offers. It will save you time by giving you more clarity surrounding user group permissions, help identify misconfigurations, and tighten security by giving people the right permissions.
Admins have been able to compare backend users for a long time now, so you probably know that feature.
TYPO3 v10 now gives you the chance to compare backend user groups as well. Hooray, right?!